My Writing Journey

Posted: December 14, 2015 in #IAmWritingNow
Tags: ,

a26c796392e3fd37b47088a527b0793b

How was your weekend? Mine was relaxing… I did a marathon of “Supernatural” on Netflix. I’m a little late to the party I know, but I’m half way through Season One. I have seen some episodes on TBS. I’ve never watched the episodes in order from the beginning, though.

Let’s see how I did with last week’s goals…

1) LAST WEEK’S POSTED GOALS:

*Work on revising the rough draft for Rescue: The Alliance Chronicles Book Two. This is going very well! I’m half way finished my first revision. I met with my critique partner on Friday. She gave me a great compliment (my writing has gotten tighter). 

giphy3

Overall, I’m very happy with my progress this time around. It took FIVE revisions to get Regress ready for readers. Four of those revisions were done without a critique partner. With Book Two I was more determined to have a ‘closer to ready’ draft. I took note of the things I didn’t do with my very first rough draft and tried hard to do better. So far I think I’m succeeding. Will see after next week’s critique.

2) THIS WEEK’S GOA LS:

*Continue revising the rough draft for Rescue.

*Meet with my critique partner.

3) A FAVORITE LINE FROM MY STORY OR ONE WORD/PHRASE THAT SUMS UP WHAT I WROTE/REVISED: This is the opening line for Rescue… (Zared’s POV) I saved a life, and I took a life all in a matter of minutes. What images come to your mind?

tumblr_inline_nng63ql0461t7z78b_500

4) THE BIGGEST CHALLENGE I FACED LAST WEEK: Motivation. This is a new one for me. I don’t have any new writing scheduled until the end of February. I’ll finish revising Rescue this month, and I’ll start revising Demon’s Birthright in January. I’ve been so busy doing new writing that it feels odd not to be writing new stories. In all honesty, I don’t need any new stories at the moment. It just feels weird right now.

16a4owkjpg

5) SOMETHING I LOVE ABOUT MY WIP: I love how Book Two is all about the emotions with Tru and Zared. These characters are evolving in Rescue. They are having these awesome experiences which are trying every emotion they possess. Tru will discover things about herself (her strengths, her weaknesses). Zared has some demons to face down. Even the support characters are dealing with their emotions.

Well, that’s it for this week.

Remember, life’s short and there are NO guarantees. Embrace it and enjoy yourself! Have a great week!

Keep reading. Keep following.

My Blogiversary is coming soon, along with some big changes! Stay tuned… 

 

Sign Up For My Author Newsletter Here.

Leave a Reply

