My Writing Journey

Posted: November 30, 2015 in #IAmWritingNow, Writing
Tags:

giphy2

How was your Thanksgiving? I spent the day with family. My daughter got to come home for the holiday. Last year, she had a game the day after Thanksgiving and couldn’t travel. So, this year we were blessed to be able to spend the time with her.

Let’s see how I did on last week’s goals…

1) LAST WEEK’S POSTED GOALS:

*Edit “The RELICs Experiment”…due Dec. 1st for a short story contest. This story is becoming my personal horror story! I’ve revised the story FIVE times. I’m hoping this experience will make me a better writer instead of a more frustrated one.

its_going_to_be_okay

*Edit “Cursed Hearts” and “Ever After” for The Debut Collective anthologies… due Dec. 15th. Edited the stories and sent them off. Then, I went to Facebook and posted. Should have done it the other way around. As soon as I posted, I got other authors asking if I wanted them read first. So, I emailed them to two authors. I got great feedback. Not a problem with having to resubmit them. The problem came in I should have trusted myself before I ever did the first submit. You see, I listened to ONE person’s advice about the end of my story. I should have stuck with my original ending. The feedback I received this time was stick with the original ending. Now, I have to revise the story and make it fit. Lesson learned…

angela

*Edit “Sweetest Bite” for anthology consideration… due Dec. 1 – Jan. 31. Because I had to address the aforementioned issue, I had to stop this edit. I have found out that only ONE edit will be done on all the stories. So, this one needs to be as close to perfect as I can get.

*Time permitting… Start edits on manuscript. Peeked at it. This will take more than a couple of days to complete.

2) THIS WEEK’S GOALS:

*Finalize “The RELICs Experiment” … Due Dec. 1st for a short story contest.

*Finalize “Cursed Hearts” and finish revision on “Ever After” for The Debut Collective anthologies… due Dec. 15th.

*Finalize “Sweetest Bite” for anthology consideration… due Dec. 1 – Jan. 31.

*Time permitting…start edits on manuscript.

 

3) A FAVORITE LINE FROM MY STORY ORONE WORD/PHRASE THAT SUMS UP WHAT I WROTE/REVISED: Lesson learned—One of my writer friends told me that suggestions are just that when it comes to your writing. It’s your story, tell it the way you see fit. If I had had that advice BEFORE I wrote my short stories, the whole debacle with the scrapped ending would have never happened.

4) THE BIGGEST CHALLENGE I FACED LAST WEEK:Brain drain! After last year’s NaNoWriMo I didn’t have another project to work on. I put the rough draft down for a month and let my brain rest. Well, this year I had projects waiting. I tried to work on them. I couldn’t focus. I was too restless to stay in the chair and edit. Fortunately, I realized the problem and stopped. I took the rest of the week off and binge watched Netflix (all caught up on The Originals).

5) SOMETHING I LOVE ABOUT MY WIP: Since I’m editing/revising now, I’ll mention something about writing in general. I love that writing allows me to ask WHAT IF and give my answer. I’ve always enjoyed speculating about things and writing is my outlet. It’s wonderful to be able to give my answer to things like… What if Snow White hadn’t eaten the apple? What if Cinderella was really a boy going to prom?

Well, that’s this week’s update. If you did NaNoWriMo and didn’t finish, don’t fret. NNWM is NOT about winning. It’s about the journey of writing. It’s about learning how to commit to a writing routine. It’s about learning your limits and what you are capable of. If you participated, you did win. You learned something. Now, go finish on YOUR time table. If you did win, congrats! Put it aside for a minute before undertaking the revision monster.

Remember, life’s short and there are NO guarantees. Embrace it and enjoy yourself! Have a great week!

Keep reading. Keep following.

 

Leave a Reply

