A Center Stage Moment: Felicia Tatum

Posted: November 11, 2015 in Center Stage Moment
Tags:

spotlight

Mason Cooley said, “Reading gives us some place to go when we have to stay where we are.”

A Center Stage Moment shines a spotlight on writers who give us great places to visit with characters we love and want to call friends.

Today, I have the pleasure of introducing to you Felicia Tatum!

Felicia Tatum Author Pic

Felicia Tatum was born and raised in Tennessee. She always loved reading, and at the age of twelve began writing. Her passion for creating stories grew and in May 2012, she finally wrote her first novel, The White Aura.

She still lives in Tennessee with her daughter and her kitties. She loves cooking, books, and animals are some of her best friends. She watches a lot of Disney channel and often dreams up new book ideas. She’s currently working on various projects. She’s the author of the White Aura series, Scarred Hearts series, Dark Sorceress Trilogy, Unbound Desires series, and Intoxicating Passion series.

Without further ado, here is Felicia’s interview…

I love reading the bios of authors. Many of them did not start out as writers. Sometimes people stumble upon the craft. Did you always want to be a writer? Since I was about 12 years old! I was bored in History class [Oh man, you got bored in one of my favorite classes!] and started on my first book. Never finished it, but my love only grew from there.

Why did you choose to write Romance? Romance is an elusive thing in my world, so I write about what I wish I had. What every romantic wishes for.

What is the strangest subject or topic you’ve ever written? In my current WIP, Straying Sadie, there’s a telepathic cat. She’s fun, but I also think I’m a little insane while writing her thoughts haha.

teaser 1 SADIE

What motivated the plot of your current WIP? Sadie was just the sister of the main character when I started writing The White Aura.
The more she spoke, the more I loved her. By the end of the series, I knew she had a story to tell and I couldn’t let her go just yet.

What was the hardest story for you to write?  Definitely Mangled Hearts. It deals with addiction and loss, two things I’ve dealt with in some way in my life. It brought out a lot of feelings.

What process do you use to plan your novels? 

Until the Sadie books, I just wrote as the characters talked, but for this trilogy, I’ve been planning out the chapters. Not a lot, just a general guideline so I know what’s happening. [A recovering pantser!]

Who has been your favorite character to write and why? Sadie Tabors! She’s a kickass sorceress who loves so very deeply.teaser 2

Do any of your characters reflect facets of your personality? I think every single one of them have a piece of me in their personalities.

Have you ever experienced writer’s block? If so, how did you overcome it? Yeah…I watch Netflix for three weeks and then realize I have a deadline and practically kill myself writing. [Nothing like a deadline…]

If you were to choose another genre to write in, what would it be? Something in romance, but I’m not sure what. I’ve already written in contemporary, paranormal, and fantasy. Something else would have to speak to me to draw me in!

Which authors inspire you? Richelle Mead and Nora Roberts for the OMG I WISH I KNEW YOU authors. Also many of my friends, including Sarah M. Cradit, Liz Lovelock, and LP Dover.

What novel would you read multiple times? Heaven by V.C. Andrews [Love V.C. Andrews!]

If you could meet anyone in the world, alive or deceased, who would it be and why? Ummm…I have no idea. I’d love to meet any of my characters in real life. Just to give them a hug, a slap, and another hug. [I never thought that one. What happens if your character is really hot? Just saying.]

What is your favorite quote? “There is nothing to writing. All you do is sit down at a typewriter and bleed.”

Ernest Hemingway

What is your favorite animal, real or imaginary? KITTIES! All sizes. 

What is your favorite color? Pink and black.

You can catch up with Felicia Tatum, a full-time author, online…

Website: http://feliciatatum.com/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/AuthorFelicia

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/felicia.tatum.7

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6592100.Felicia_Tatum

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Felicia-Tatum

Thanks Felicia for participating! It was great to have you here today!

Join me next week as I feature Allie Burton!

Leave a Reply

