A Center Stage Moment: Kat Nichols

Posted: November 4, 2015 in Center Stage Moment
Tags:

spotlight

Mason Cooley said, “Reading gives us some place to go when we have to stay where we are.”

A Center Stage Moment shines a spotlight on writers who give us great places to visit with characters we love and want to call friends.

Today, I have the pleasure of introducing to you Kat Nichols!

1434854283011 Kat Nichols was born and raised in the suburbs of Chicago. The youngest of four children, she’d been known to play for hours with only a cardboard box for entertainment. Her imaginary friends had friends… and family… and even little cities to play in. As she grew older, she began to put some of these stories down on paper, rather than keeping them in her head.

Writing a novel had always been a dream for her, perhaps an item on her bucket list, but it wasn’t until she joined a writing group with other aspiring writers that she finally got to work.When not writing, Kat is reading or driving her son to and from practices and wishing she was reading.It depends on the day.

Kat still lives in the suburbs of Chicago with her wonderful husband, their hilarious son and their sometimes adorable and sometimes annoying cat, Ozzie.

Without further ado, here is Kat’s interview…

I love reading the bios of authors. Many of them did not start out as writers. Sometimes people stumble upon the craft. Did you always want to be a writer? Yes. Ever since I was a little girl I’ve wanted to write. I have notebooks and folders full of Chapter Ones and Story Ideas from all through high school and college. [Awesome!]

Why did you choose to write Paranormal? The Paranormal genre is my favorite to read and my favorite to write as well. I think I have enough problems in my day to day life that it can be hard to read a book with the main character going through those same problems. I read and write to get away not dwell on real life issues. You never have to worry about casting spells or being stalked by a vampire in real life, so why not in a book?

What is the strangest subject or topic you’ve ever written? I am currently working on several projects, one of which is a NA Contemporary novel about a college senior who is hiding the fact that her father is a convicted serial killer from pretty much everyone she knows, including her new love interest. Hmm… It’s funny that I think that is the strangest subject, when I write about witches, vampires and the Fae. I think that tells you something about me! [You just found a way to put a twist on what others would consider the normal world.]

What motivates the plot of your novels? Nothing specific. I’m lucky that many of my ideas come to me. Unfortunately, it’s often when I’m in bed or driving, definitely when I can’t write them down.

What was the hardest story for you to write? The first one, Family Secrets, Family Secrets 1800x2700mostly because I’d never actually FINISHED before.

What process do you use to plan your novels? I am a plotter, I just don’t always stick to it.

Who has been your favorite character to write and why? Wow. This one is tough!  I really love Sydney, Sophia’s best friend in the Secret set Deadly Secrets 1800x2700. She’s tough and she always has Sophia’s back, but she’s willing to tell Sophia to get over herself if she gets too down on herself.

Do any of your characters reflect facets of your personality? I think they all have a little part of me in them, it’s hard not to, but as I write they take on a character all their own.

Lenore Teaser Art1

Have you ever experienced writer’s block? If so, how did you overcome it? Yes, and I think it just takes time. If I am struggling, I try to work on a different project until it starts flowing again. I do have anxiety and sometimes that leads to just “meh” feelings about everything. That makes it hard to work on anything and I just need to wait that out.

If you were to choose another genre to write in, what would it be? I am stepping outside my paranormal comfort zone currently and working on a NA contemporary romance. Fantasy might be fun to write as well.

Which authors inspire you? There are so many!!  I’ve become such a fan of Indie writing the past couple years, and there are some amazing authors who have inspired me in the Indie ranks. Number one on the list is Rachel Higginson. She’s a wonderful author and a fabulous person. She inspired my writing group, the Rebel Writers, to actually write our first novels. And speaking of the Rebels, I couldn’t have done this without them. Alex Tuttle, Caylie Marcoe, Regan Claire, Stormy Smith and Theresa Kay – pay attention to these names, they are great authors putting out some fantastic books!!

What novel would you read multiple times? What wouldn’t I read multiple times?  I re-read books all the time. The biggest re-reads? There are three series: Harry Potter (of course), Outlander (swoon) and a not so well known series that I’ve loved since I was a teenager, The President’s Daughter by Ellen Emerson White. It’s been updated to fit the times (like cell phones and the internet, what can I say, I’m old) but I still love the series.

If you could meet anyone in the world, alive or deceased, who would it be and why? This changes all the time… Right now? J.K. Rowling. She’s kinda my hero, plus I’d love to see all the background stuff on Harry Potter that didn’t make it into the books.

What is your favorite quote? “It is our choices that show what we truly are, far more than our abilities.”  ~J.K. Rowling, Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets

What is your favorite animal, real or imaginary? Another tough one… I’m going to have to go with dolphins. They are amazing!

What is your favorite color? Green, all shades of it!

Lenore Teaser Art4

You can catch up with Kat Nichols, a part-time author, mother, and law firm supervisor, online…

Website: http://www.katnichols.com/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/katnicholsauthor/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/Author_KatN

Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/katnicholsautho/

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Kat-Nichols/

This was so much fun! It was good to get to know you. Thanks for participating!

Join me next week as I spotlight Sharon Rose Mayes!

Leave a Reply

