My Writing Journey!

Posted: October 19, 2015 in #IAmWritingNow
Tags:

How was your weekend? Mine wasn’t bad at all. I finished reading a book and a short story. Plus, I started another couple of books. I binged watched “The Originals” on Netflix (twelve more episodes to watch from season one) I also got some writing done. All in all, not bad. Let’s see how I did with last week’s goals.

1. So, how did I do last week? My posted goals:

*Continue work on rough draft for second WIP. Added about 1,500 more words!

*Continue working on short story. GOAL: Finish the rough draft. DONE!!

*Finish line edits. DONE!! Manuscript is with the editor.

*Work on plan for NaNoWriMo. Worked on character sketches. Completed two of them.

2. THIS WEEK’S GOALS:

*Continue work on rough draft for second WIP.

*Chat with my critique partner about my short story.

*Finish character sketches. I have seven to complete.

*I’m toying around with entering a short story contest. It’s for Dystopian fiction. I’m going to see about expanding the zombie piece I wrote as a writing prompt.

3. A FAVORITE LINE FROM MY STORY OR ONE WORD/PHRASE THAT SUMS UP WHAT I WROTE/REVISED: Humorous. I actually wove in a few humorous passages into the WIP for book two. Even a character sketch I’m working on has some funny elements to it. My humor tends to run on the sarcastic side so, I hope others get it.

4. THE BIGGEST CHALLENGE I FACED LAST WEEK: Finishing my line edits was the biggest challenge ever! I usually work Sunday through Thursday. My husband is off on Friday and Saturday so, I’ve been trying not to work on those days. With traveling to Michigan I lost two days of working so, I had to finish my edits in three days. Talk about long hours spent reading and changing.

5. SOMETHING I LOVE ABOUT MY WIP: I fell in love with the words in my manuscript. I had to keep stopping and saying ‘I wrote this’. The work that I did with my critique partner has made my second WIP easier. The words are flowing easier. It took five revisions to finish the first book. I’m hoping to shave off a revision or two with this second one.

Well, that’s this week’s update. Remember, life’s short and there are NO guarantees. Embrace it and enjoy yourself! Have a great week!

Keep reading. Keep following.

Leave a Reply

