My Writing Journey!

Posted: September 28, 2015 in #IAmWritingNow
Tags: ,

How was your weekend? I had a great weekend working on a new short story…a New Adult vampire fiction!

Time for another peek at My Writing Journey….

1. So, how did I do last week? My posted goals:

*Continue work on rough draft for second WIP. Goal for the week: 56,130 words. Came to a realization with the word count. My first book was written during NaNoWriMo 2014. I reached 50K but added over 30K in revisions. So, I had to ask myself why was I sweating to accomplish all 80K in this rough draft. The story reached its end at 52K. I put it down for a day and wrote down everything I didn’t include (but needed to) in this installment [can’t you tell I’m a pantser?]. I’ve added nearly 2K to my total count just adding those things.

*Continue planning out Urban Fantasy. Didn’t touch it at all last week. A new short-term project jumped up. I received an invite for another anthology and got the idea for a NA vampire short story. It’s not your typical tale….

*Start tackling the business of being an author. I need to set up a website and an author page on Facebook. Investigated and had a sit down with my co-CEO (my hubby and his term). We have plans going forth.

*Decide on a copy editor. Accomplished!

2. THIS WEEK’S GOALS:

*Continue work on rough draft for second WIP.

*Continue working on short story. I’m already past the half way point (total word count max =10K)

*Continue planning out Urban Fantasy.

3. A FAVORITE LINE FROM MY STORY OR ONE WORD/PHRASE THAT SUMS UP WHAT I WROTE/REVISED: This is from the short story I’m working on. The newly turned vampiress is tracking her next victim:

“His heavenly aroma surrounded me. Beckoning me. Teasing me. I licked my lips and picked up the pace. It was as if someone unlocked a homing device in my veins.”

4. THE BIGGEST CHALLENGE I FACED LAST WEEK: Focus. It’s amazing how this is a continuous problem. I’m having to learn how to work through distractions and interruptions. Although annoying, they remind me that it’s too easy to work in a bubble and writers need human interaction. After all, fictional books involve people and people read them. Who wants to read the words from someone who never experiences the world around them?

5. SOMETHING I LOVE ABOUT MY WIP: (My short story) I love how the idea came to me and the characters developed. I love the main character. She’s got spunk and a great personality. The biggest challenge in writing her is describing her sensations and emotions. Trying to describe what she’s experiencing after being newly turned has been fun.

Well, that’s this week’s update. Have a great week!

Keep reading. Keep following.

Leave a Reply

