Don’t Make Dark Enemies: A Review of Christina Farley’s “Silvern”

Posted: September 15, 2015 in Book Review, Young Adult
Tags: , ,

Goodreads.com Description: “Jae Hwa Lee has destroyed Haemosu, the dangerous demi-god that held her ancestors captive, and now she’s ready to forget about immortals and move on with her life. Then the god of darkness, Kud, sends an assassin to kill her. Jae escapes with the knowledge that Kud is seeking the lost White Tiger Orb, and joins the Guardians of Shinshi to seek out the orb before Kud can find it.

But Kud is stronger and more devious than Haemosu ever was. Jae is soon painfully reminded that by making an enemy of Kud, she has placed her closest friends in danger, and must decide how much she can bear to sacrifice to defeat one of the most powerful immortals in all of Korea.”

About the Author

It all began when I was nine, curled under my covers, listening to my father read Lord of the Rings by J.R.R Tolkien. That’s where the beauty and power of storytelling came to life for me. I was so inspired that I started a writing group in 4th grade. All my friends came over and we’d write stories and share them. When I was ten, I submitted my first short story to a magazine. It was rejected. I thought I was a terrible writer. I put writing aside and decided to become a teacher.

It was after teaching and traveling internationally for ten years that I decided to tackle my bucket list. ‘Write a book’ happened to be on it. I wrote that book. It was awful, just as I suspected it’d be. But a very strange thing happened. I realized I liked writing. Finally I’d found that outlet to share all the crazy, wild stories floating in my head.

I was hooked. I wrote and wrote. Finally, I snagged a fabulous agent, Jeff Ourvan. He submited GILDED to publishers and found a home for it with my wonderful editor, Miriam Juskowicz at Skyscape/Amazon Children’s.

Besides writing, I love traveling, running, playing light sabers with my two Jedi warriors, and eating dark chocolate. I’m slightly obsessed with books, especially YA’s. My next challenge to conquer on my bucket list is to visit all the continents, but I’ve heard Antarctica is quite cold. And that just might be my greatest challenge.

Find Christina online at:

Website: http://www.christinafarley.com/index1.html

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6588802.Christina_Farley

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ChristinaFarleyAuthor

Twitter: @ChristinaFarley

Tumblr: http://christinafarley.tumblr.com/

Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/christinafarley/

YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/user/chocolateinspired

My Review

I received an ARC from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Christina Farley delivered another wonderful story in the second book in her “Gilded” series, Silvern. The main character, Jae Hwa Lee, is acquiring quite a reputation in the Spirit World. Drawing attention to yourself is not a good thing when it comes to demigods.

Farley brings back the same cast of characters–Jae Hwa, Marc, Michelle, Kumar, Lily, Haraboji and her Dad. She adds a new one, the god of darkness, Kud. He’s a serious bad guy. You’ll be torn, at first, between liking him and hating him. I’m sorry. I fell for Kud’s charms when he first showed up. Trust me, be on the lookout for this not so obvious god.

I love how the cast has evolved. Jae Hwa is incredibly strong, but despite all the dangers, friends and family always come first with her. How can you not love her for that? Marc has become a stronger protector with a new title. Michelle has morphed into a brave, wise friend. Kumar is not just book smart. I love Haraboji. He started out being very questionable in Book One. Now, it is obvious how much he loves his granddaughter and is concerned for her safety. Unfortunately, I’m still trying to like Jae Hwa’s father. He chooses not to believe in the Spirit World. At times he teeters between belief and disbelief. I suspect his grief over his wife has colored any possibility for him to believe those things unseen. Maybe if he had a guarantee of Jae Hwa’s safety, he’d change his mind.

I love how this story is developing. Be prepared, though. This installment will make you sad. But, stick with it. I promise you will be rewarded.

I highly recommend this inventive tale centered around Korean mythology.

Rating

5 hands up5 hands up5 hands up5 hands up5 hands up

(5 Hands=Excellent; 4 Hands=Pretty Good; 3 Hands=Good)

Comments

Leave a Reply

