An Emotional Roller Coaster: A Review of Rachael Brownell’s “Next”

Posted: September 1, 2015 in Book Review, New Adult
Tags: ,

 

Goodreads.com Description: What if one kiss could change everything?

It did, for Reagan Brooks. Her fascination with Luke Evans went from a school-girl crush to heart-wrenching love in an instant. Then he left town, leaving a starry-eyed Reagan in his wake. No one will ever be good enough. No kiss will ever compare to his. Reagan’s standards are high. When someone doesn’t meet them, she moves on.

“Next in line, please.”

Moving through life with unrealistic expectations can be damaging. Letting those expectations go… It’s in that moment we find out who we are and what we really want.”

About the Author

Rachael Brownell is from Kalamazoo, Michigan, where she lives with her significant other, Jeremy, and their son, Nicklas.  When’s she’s not working, building LEGOs, or writing, she enjoys scrapbooking and is an avid reader.

I am your average early thirties (29 is anyone asks) working mom.  I spend most of my days either at work or playing with my son as much as possible.  I have an addiction to Facebook, especially Bingo on Facebook.  I’m not proud of it but I also can’t help myself.  You might be able to find me on a local driving range since I have taken up golf.  If you happen to see me you might want to stand back as I am NOT THAT GOOD.  As with everything in life, I will get better over time.  At least I hope I will.

So, how did I get into writing?  Well, when my son started kindergarten I found that I had a ton of time on my hands during the day if I wasn’t at work.  I am easily bored.  I decided that I would try to finish a book that I wrote a long time ago (we’re talking high school) just to pass the time.  Well, that didn’t go as well as I planned.  I was young and inexperienced when I started that book.  It was less than impressive so I started over.

‘Holding On’ was the product of me scraping that first book.

Find Rachael on line at:

Website: http://authorrachaelbrownell.com/

Twitter:  @HoldingOn2013

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Rachael-Brownell

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7362131.Rachael_Brownell

Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/holdingon501

My Review

I received an ARC from the author in exchange for an honest review.

Oh. My. God. This book hurt to read. Seriously. It was so friggin’ good. The emotional roller coaster it took me on was tremendous. My heart ached after the first few pages. And, just when I thought I found a joyful moment it was ripped away. Some how I managed to read this story in ONE night.

Rachael Brownell delivered a unique story of love and life in Next. I felt every emotion Reagan, the main character, experienced. I came awfully close to picking up the Kleenex box more than once. Whew!

The characters in this tale…they floored me. I wanted to kick Luke for being a typical man. And, then he shared his feelings. Oh, man. If every guy shared feelings the way he did, well…let’s just say there would be women out there who wouldn’t be able to stand let alone walk (yours truly included). I didn’t know whether to admire Reagan’s fortitude or give the girl a ticket to the loony farm. Seriously, a ten year wait? Sorry, I’m not telling you what that’s about. You have to read the book. And, please read this book! I don’t want to be the only one whose heart stopped at each chapter. I have to mention Felicity. This is the roommate every girl wants. She is so unbelievably strong. If my life went the way hers did, I’d be a basket case. I loved Elliot. Ms. Brownell if you’re reading this, I did not like what you did with that character! I nearly lost it. Good thing no one was home when I read this book.

Next is not your typical romance story. It will grab you, pull your heart strings, test your emotions and give you an ending you’ll be happy with. Hats off to Rachael Brownell for such a great read! It’s my understanding that we get to read more about Felicity!! Yay!!

Rating: 5 hands up5 hands up5 hands up5 hands up5 hands up

(5 Hands=Excellent; 4 Hands=Pretty Good; 3 Hands=Good)

Comments
  1. This sounds so good! Glad there’s more in the works, when there’s a good book I always want more.

    Like

Leave a Reply

