RSW Update: Week 12

Posted: August 24, 2015 in #IAmWritingNow, #ReadySetWrite2015
Tags:

RSW7

Welcome to WEEK 12, the FINAL week of Ready. Set. WRITE! What is RSW? It’s a summer long writing intensive through which writers write/revise/plan, cheer each other on, and hold each other accountable with weekly updates. On Mondays, I will share my goals and update you on my progress.

But, don’t let that word final throw you! It may be the last week of RSW Summer 2015, but I’ll continue posting my updates each and every Monday. I’ll be keeping you posted with progress on my first book, Regress: The Alliance Chronicles Book One, and the second one in the trilogy, Rescue. So, don’t miss a Monday!

1. So, how did I do last week? My posted goals:

*Meet with critique partner to discuss next set of pages to be revised. DONE – I’m now revising the pages Sunday through Thursday so she can get the next week’s pages right after our chat.

*Work on rough draft of Act Two (Chapters 23-33) of second WIP. Goal: 3,500 words. Nailed it!

*Finish creating creatures/animals for Urban Fantasy worldbuilding. Not so good here. I thought about it. Had scenes run through my head, but the rough draft of “Rescue” would not let me rest. I put this project on the back burner for the week and let the muse run. 

“Thanks fellas! I needed that.”

2. THIS WEEK’S GOALS:

*Revise pages for critique by Thursday for critique chat on Friday.

*Continue work on rough draft for second WIP. Goal: 3,000 words.

*Continue working on worldbuilding for Urban Fantasy. Goal: Complete creation of characters, map of Chimeria.

3. A FAVORITE LINE FROM MY STORY OR ONE WORD/PHRASE THAT SUMS UP WHAT I WROTE/REVISED: “My heart sunk when we reached the top of the stairs. My home was in ruins. A broken window let in the cold fall air. But, it wasn’t strong enough to displace the cloying smell of urine and mildew. I stepped around the missing floorboards. I needed to see the upstairs. Plaster, paint chips and pieces of wood littered the steps. I entered the hallway. My bedroom door, spray painted with obscenities, was at the end of the hall.”

4. THE BIGGEST CHALLENGE I FACED THIS WEEK: Turning the muse off–seriously! No balance last week. My whole week focused on getting words down for the rough draft and critique pages. I don’t want to shut the muse down permanently. I just want her to respect the rest of my life.

 5. SOMETHING I LOVE ABOUT MY WIP: I love how it has developed. It started out as an idea from a dream. The characters introduced themselves in the shower. The plot grew, strengthened and got deeper. The characters have grown and become individuals I no longer like but love.

As I said, this is the last week for RSW. It concludes with a virtual event Manuscripts and Manicures. Well, I suck at manicures. My nails never dry properly and they are usually ruined in days. So, if I were to do a manicure representing my manuscript it would feature this:

It’s the American Republic’s flag from The Alliance Chronicles. It represents the states not under water.

Good luck to everyone working through their goals this week….

Leave a Reply

