RSW Update: Week 11

Posted: August 17, 2015 in Writing
Tags: ,

RSW9

Welcome to WEEK 11 of Ready. Set. WRITE! What is RSW? It’s a summer long writing intensive through which writers write/revise/plan, cheer each other on, and hold each other accountable with weekly updates. On Mondays, I will share my goals and update you on my progress.

1. So, how did I do last week? My posted goals:

*Meet with critique partner to discuss next set of pages to be revised. DONE! I love my critique partner! She has helped me so much. I think my characters are better developed and writing is becoming richer.

*Work on rough draft of Act Two of second WIP. Goal: 2,000 words. CRUSHED IT TO PIECES!! I added 5,917 words!

*Finish creating creatures/animals for Urban Fantasy worldbuilding. Created more creatures! I still have a ways to go.

2. THIS WEEK’S GOAL:

*Meet with critique partner to discuss next set of pages to be revised.

*Work on rough draft of Act Two (Chapters 23-33) of second WIP. Goal: 3,500 words.

*Finish creating creatures/animals for Urban Fantasy worldbuilding.

3. A FAVORITE LINE FROM MY STORY OR ONE WORD/PHRASE THAT SUMS UP WHAT I WROTE/REVISED: [from second WIP, Tru is having a conversation with Holden who has just revealed he’s gay but he hasn’t told anyone] “Nothing’s worse than trying to make yourself into someone else’s image.”

4. THE BIGGEST CHALLENGE I FACED THIS WEEK: Finding time to do more than write. The muse came on like gangbusters. In the shower, during meals and even when I tried to take a break. I had to return to the keyboard (or Evernote to jot notes from the shower). I’m sure this is a good challenge to have. It’s just she got a little pushy this week.

5. SOMETHING I LOVE ABOUT MY WIP: This second book in the trilogy is about emotions and the characters are really driving the plot.

Good luck to everyone working through their goals this week….

Leave a Reply

