RSW Update: Week 10

Posted: August 10, 2015 in #ReadySetWrite2015, Writing
Tags:

47c7c-rsw4

Welcome to WEEK 10 of Ready. Set. WRITE! What is RSW? It’s a summer long writing intensive through which writers write/revise/plan, cheer each other on, and hold each other accountable with weekly updates. On Mondays, I will share my goals and update you on my progress.

1. So, how did I do last week? My posted goals:

*Meet with critique partner to discuss next set of pages to be revised. DONE! I had fewer changes to make too. 

*Continue with rough draft of second book in trilogy. Word count goal: add 3,000 words. MET AND SURPASSED! I DID 3,485. FINISHED ROUGH DRAFT OF ACT ONE!

*Do research needed for world building (paranormal). DONE! The paranormal has morphed into an urban fantasy complete with a named realm (yes!) and I started creating some of the creatures who live there.

*Submit short story to editor. DONE!

2. THIS WEEK’S GOAL:

*Meet with critique partner to discuss next set of pages to be revised.

*Work on rough draft of Act Two of second WIP. Goal: 2,000 words.

*Finish creating creatures/animals for Urban Fantasy worldbuilding.

3. A FAVORITE LINE FROM MY STORY OR ONE WORD/PHRASE THAT SUMS UP WHAT I WROTE/REVISED: “I was left with a longing so intense it was painful.” This was from my female main character and her love interest’s first kiss scene.[First WIP]

4. THE BIGGEST CHALLENGE I FACED THIS WEEK: Maintaining momentum. I’ve been writing practically every day of the week. I actually took a day off. Although life got in the way and required my leaving the writing alone, I got a much needed recharge. I’m looking forward to starting the week with new thoughts and energy.

5. SOMETHING I LOVE ABOUT MY WIP: (My 2nd WIP) I love the fact that emotion and how people handle extremes in emotion is the underlying theme of the second book in my trilogy. The male love interest has been through a lot in his short life and he’s got some serious demons to deal with. The people who have become his allies also have some serious issues going on. Their emotions will either help their quest or cause it to fail.

Good luck to everyone working through their goals this week….

*

Comments
  1. Erin Funk says:

    Maintaining momentum has been a major issue for me lately too. It’s great that you feel recharged after a much needed day off though. Good luck with your goals this week!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

