RSW Update: Week 9

Posted: August 3, 2015 in #ReadySetWrite2015, Writing
Tags:

RSW9

Welcome to WEEK 9 of Ready. Set. WRITE! What is RSW? It’s a summer long writing intensive through which writers write/revise/plan, cheer each other on, and hold each other accountable with weekly updates. On Mondays, I will share my goals and update you on my progress.

1. So, how did I do last week? My posted goals:

*Make changes on WIP as suggested by critique partner.

*Finish making changes to first short story and submit. DONE

*Continue with rough draft of second book in trilogy. Word count goal: add 2,000 words DONE

*Work on world building for paranormal. DONE

2. THIS WEEK’S GOAL:

*Meet with critique partner to discuss next set of pages to be revised.

*Continue with rough draft of second book in trilogy. Word count goal: add 3,000 words.

*Do research needed for world building (paranormal).

[Second short story is with beta readers. If it is finished this week, then I’ll make changes, if needed, before it goes to edit.]

3. A FAVORITE LINE FROM MY STORY OR ONE WORD/PHRASE THAT SUMS UP WHAT I WROTE/REVISED: [from the second book in my trilogy] “Every day was a game of cat and mouse. And, sometimes in life, when a mouse gets tired of constantly dodging the shadows, he grows a pair and strikes back.”

4. THE BIGGEST CHALLENGE I FACED THIS WEEK: Focus! Ideas started flowing again. I ended up with a few new post-its on the project board.

5. SOMETHING I LOVE ABOUT MY WiP: I get to explore the male POV. This is a hard one for me. I didn’t grow up with brothers. My first boyfriend happened after high school. My husband isn’t atypical. He can be quite goofy which is what attracted me. The love interest in WIP isn’t goofy. He’s a typical male who uses his looks. He’s obscenely attractive and knows the girl is driven to distraction by him. He uses it to his advantage. Everything in his eyes appears in black and white. There’s no gray. Where the girl he’s interested in can find beauty in everything no matter how discouraging it might appear. Definitely a hard, challenging POV to handle.

Good luck to everyone working through their goals this week….

Leave a Reply

