RSW Update: Week 8

Posted: July 27, 2015 in #ReadySetWrite2015, Writing
Tags:

RSW11

Welcome to WEEK 8 of Ready. Set. WRITE! What is RSW? It’s a summer long writing intensive through which writers write/revise/plan, cheer each other on, and hold each other accountable with weekly updates. On Mondays, I will share my goals and update you on my progress.

1. So, how did I do last week? My posted goals:

*Finish revisions to Chapter 12 of WIP (novel) DONE.

*Make changes to Chapters 13-15 of novel WIP DONE. 

*Make changes to short story rough drafts for anthology DONE.

*Work on rough draft of second book in trilogy, word count goal for week: 2,000 OVER 6,000 TOTAL.

2. THIS WEEK’S GOAL:

*Make changes on WIP as suggested by critique partner. This is a new one. I got myself a critique partner at UtopYA. She is magnificent! She’s making my words sing. 

*Finish making changes to first short story and submit.

*Continue with rough draft of second book in trilogy. Word count goal: add 2,000 words

*Work on world building for paranormal.

3. A FAVORITE LINE FROM MY STORY OR ONE WORD/PHRASE THAT SUMS UP WHAT I WROTE/REVISED: Project Board! I gave up on trying to do a structured outline for my second book in my Dystopian trilogy. The muse finally shut up after 6,000 words. She crossed her arms and said, “Fine. If you want to shackle me, do it yourself.” When I gave up she said she’d play nicely again. 

4. THE BIGGEST CHALLENGE I FACED THIS WEEK: Getting out of my head. I was feeling overwhelmed and unproductive. I started questioning this journey I’m on. Creating the Project Board helped immensely. I was able to visualize what I’m working on. The best part is I have a spot to put incoming ideas. I don’t have to worry that I’ll lose them in a notebook on a desk. 

There’s a section for everything I’m working on and a holding spot for ideas (on the lower right). The Post-it Notes have my deadlines, reminders and checklists for each project. The short stories are the only ones with real deadlines. The others have been set by me. 

5. SOMETHING I LOVE ABOUT MY WiP: My protagonist! She’s a creative soul living in a war-torn world. Where others see abandoned buildings and chaos, she sees beauty. 

That’s it for this week! I feel right on track and confident I’ll have a finished product by year’s end. Okay, maybe a couple of products.

If you’re also working on your summer writing goals, good luck this week!

Leave a Reply

