RSW Update: Week 6

Posted: July 13, 2015 in Writing
Tags:

RSW11

Welcome to WEEK 6 of Ready. Set. WRITE! What is RSW? It’s a summer long writing intensive through which writers write/revise/plan, cheer each other on, and hold each other accountable with weekly updates. On Mondays, I will share my goals and update you on my progress.

1. So, how did I do last week? My posted goals:

* Make changes to chapters 7 – 10 of WIP required. I combined some chapters two weeks ago so my numbers were off. I completed chapters 6 – 8. Not a complete failure! These chapters were long.

* Finish rough draft of short story and start fine tuning it for editing. I did great on this one! Finished rough draft and started fine tuning it. I also started plotting my second story for the project!

* Start rough draft of second book in trilogy. Wrote some scenes for this one. Still figuring out what my opening will be.

2. THIS WEEK’S GOALS:

* Make changes to chapters 9 – 12 of WIP required.

* Finish work on first short story for project.

* Work on second short story for project. Goal for this week: 2000 words

* Keep writing scenes for second book in trilogy. Write an opening chapter!

3. A FAVORITE LINE FROM MY STORY OR ONE WORD/PHRASE THAT SUMS UP WHAT I WROTE/REVISED:

“But, the guy next to him was six feet of muscular heaven.” It’s from my first short story. Originally, it was “But, the guy next to him was at least six feet tall and muscular.”

4. THE BIGGEST CHALLENGE I FACED THIS WEEK:

Staying focused! I had a lot on my plate. Along with writing, I’m trying to make review deadlines. I got a little behind. Once I bought my physical calendars and wrote stuff down, I realized I committed to things with really tight deadlines. So, now I have reviews due for 5 books with back to back deadlines. Fortunately, four of the books are in a series and are quick reads. I’m on the third book in the series. Worse case scenario? I’m contacting people to apologize and I’ll get the reviews as fast as I can. Knowing I goofed in this area really played havoc with my writing though. BIG lesson learned!

5. SOMETHING I LOVE ABOUT MY WiP:

I set it in my hometown of Detroit. I took pictures of some sites when I was home last week and was able to fine tune what I’d written.

Well, that’s it for now. If you’re also working on your summer writing goals, good luck this week!

Leave a Reply

