A Sci-Fi Survivor: A Review of Scott Sigler’s “Alive”

Posted: June 30, 2015 in Book Review, Young Adult
Tags: ,

Goodreads.com Description: “From New York Times bestselling author Scott Sigler comes something utterly new: a gripping sci-fi adventure trilogy in the vein of The Hunger Games, Divergent, and The Maze Runner. A group of young adults awake in a mysterious enclosed space with no knowledge of who they are or how they got there…and an indomitable young woman must lead them not only to answers but to survival. A young woman awakes trapped in an enclosed space. She has no idea who she is or how she got there. With only her instincts to guide her, she escapes her own confinement—and finds she’s not alone. She frees the others in the room and leads them into a corridor filled with the remains of a war long past. The farther these survivors travel, the worse are the horrors they confront. And as they slowly come to understand what this prison is, they realize that the worst and strangest possibilities they could have imagined don’t even come close to the truth.”

I received an ecopy of this book via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

My Thoughts:

I enjoyed reading Scott Sigler’s Alive. It was like a combination of Survivor, Twilight Zone and Star Trek. It was a well-written tale with very interesting characters.

The protagonist, Em Savage, reminded me a lot of Katniss from “The Hunger Games”. She was tough and determined. When she was afraid she fought hard to not let anyone know. She had this incredible sense of right and wrong which prevailed throughout the book. Another character I enjoyed (and would like to learn more about) was O’Malley. He was Em’s quiet companion. He was a boy trapped in a man’s body. He wanted to be brave but really didn’t know how. Sigler made it clear which characters you were not supposed to like–Yong and Aramovsky. They were antagonists with nothing redeemable about them.

Sigler weaved an interesting plot around a cast of predominately children. I have to admit, though, by the time I got to Part Four I was just as tired as the characters on their endless journey. The story wasn’t boring. I was just waiting for something else to happen. Part Four contained suspense and some much needed answers.

Alive reminded me of Veronica Roth’s “Divergent” as well. There are symbols and alliances to them. Unfortunately, by the end of the book we don’t know a whole lot about the meanings behind the symbols. I got the feeling that there might be some hierarchy involved and Em might be the key.

I encourage readers to pick up a copy of Alive when it comes out July 14. It is the first book in a planned series. Sigler has a lot more in store for this cast of kids.

Advertisements
Comments

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s