RSW Update

Posted: June 22, 2015 in Writing
Tags:

RSW7

Welcome to WEEK 3 of Ready. Set. WRITE! What is RSW? It’s a summer long writing intensive through which writers write/revise/plan, cheer each other on, and hold each other accountable with weekly updates. On Mondays, I will share my goals and update you on my progress.

1. So, how did I do last week? My posted goals:

  • Attend UtopYA Con and NETWORK!
  • Make valuable contacts.
  • Post to blog from convention provided internet is accessible.
  • Finish revising WIP. Would like to have it finished in time for convention.

I met ALL my goals!! I finished my WIP revisions two nights before attending UtopYA. Want to know how well I did with my goals? Read today’s post about Goals Accomplished to get a detailed account.

2. THIS WEEK’S GOALS:

Create a year long writing calendar (June 2015 – June 2016) and schedule the steps I need to do to get my WIP ready for publication. Yes, I learned at UtopYA that I’m a lot closer to that goal than I knew!

Plot second book in my WIP trilogy.

Make changes to first three chapters of WIP required. (I’ll be making required changes to get WIP ready for publication throughout the summer. My goal is to have WIP ready to pitch starting Jan. 2016.)

3. A FAVORITE LINE FROM MY STORY OR ONE WORD/PHRASE THAT SUMS UP WHAT I WROTE/REVISED:

“It was a fanciful idea about living a life full of hope despite the presence of tragedy.”

4. THE BIGGEST CHALLENGE I FACED THIS WEEK:

Making myself push forward even when tired. More than once I wanted to sit down, by myself and relax while at UtopYA. But, I reminded myself that I didn’t invest money to hang out in a hotel room alone.

5. SOMETHING I LOVE ABOUT MY WiP:

I love that with the revisions my protagonist has grown. She started out not very strong, but I wanted her to be. I found ways to build strength into her character so that she’s the person I needed her to be. She’s now a happier fictional character (shhh, don’t tell her she’s fictional!).

That’s it for now. Got to start working on my goals!

Leave a Reply

