A Messed Up Triangle: A Review of Corinne Michaels’ “Conviction”

Posted: May 29, 2015 in Book Review, New Adult/Adult Romance
Tags: , ,

Goodreads.com Description: “I fell in love with Liam only to be left shattered into a million pieces. Again. The idea of being without him cripples me but the reality is, he’s gone. He doesn’t understand and I can’t make him. If only he’d see the conviction behind my words—then Liam would still be here.”

My Thoughts:

Of late I’ve been trying to keep my review postings on Tuesdays and Thursdays. But, this book was so good I couldn’t wait until Tuesday!

It’s official–Corinne Michaels writes tear-jerkers! Conviction had me reaching for a tissue box. I held my breath, I laughed, I cried, I even smiled. The story of Natalie and the two men who love her is filled with turmoil and heartache. Once again Michaels delivered palpable emotions from Natalie’s “surprise” at the door to Liam’s tragic goodbye to a loved one. If these moments don’t make you weepy, you must not be human.

The characters in Conviction had such depth. I really wonder if they were not fictionalized representations of people in the author’s life. Of course, Liam is the ultimate book boyfriend. He’s always putting everyone else before himself. He fell so deep in love with Natalie the poor boy nearly lost his mind. And, Natalie became so much stronger in this installment. Her good friend Reanell, everyone should have her in their lives, recognized this strength and helped Nat embrace it. Although Aaron made bad decisions, he wasn’t a bad guy. I actually understand his point of view. He was completely unaware of what happened state side. To him, he was merely MIA therefore nothing had changed in his mind. Nat was his life force. Doesn’t every military person deployed need one?

I can’t stop complimenting Michaels on the books in the Salvation series. They are heartwarming, thought provoking and just plain well-written. Conviction has its humorous moments too. The epilogue had me laughing out loud (good thing my hubby wasn’t home). Michaels can work a description. I got great visuals on everything she put on a page.

You have to read this series–yes, the whole series! If you don’t, it would be like starting The Great Gatsby on page 100. You just wouldn’t do it. So, go out and pick up Beloved, Beholden AND Consolation. You won’t be sorry.

Leave a Reply

